The Mirror Is A Stranger

How to keep fit.  How to keep fit when just putting on shoes becomes a creative intervention?  When pulling on the left pantleg becomes an exercise in contortion and, at times, comedy?  I have never been an athlete, but walking and swimming have always been two things that I love to do.  The swimming is still possible and I do swim in the summer months in an outdoor pool.  It is heated by the sunlight, so that option disappears once the summer is over.  I can no  longer walk in any way that could be construed as ‘cardiovascularly challenging’.  So…….what’s the exercise regime?

I have one side that is fully functional; the other side has a leg that can only lift 1-2 inches off the ground and an arm that cannot fully extend upward and, when stretched, goes into spasm and becomes almost unruly.  I have purchased some arm weights and will begin that process.  I have a stationary bike that I will truly try to spend more time with; it’s a job just keeping my left foot on the pedal.  My Dr. pointed out that riding a bike is actually strengthening the very muscles that spasm and advised that I pedal backwards in order to strengthen the appropriate muscles. Not a problem, I can pedal backwards!  But my bicycle does not allow a rider to pedal in the ‘wrong direction’.  It’s been a long time since I’ve had my heart up to a taxing rate.  So now I wonder if my arteries are clogging up with a sedentary flow of sluggish blood just waiting to zoom around once again.  Will I ever zoom again?

I live in a remote area without gyms or body-attending services. My exercise regime will be self-motivated and self-functioning. That motivation has, so far, been non-existent in reality though very strong in intention.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

